Form Data will not post to csv file

Issues related to forms.
gmaclean482

Form Data will not post to csv file

Post by gmaclean482 »

I will admit to being a novice here, but I have run out of places to troubleshoot, and a search of this site does not reveal anything helpful here (apologies if I missed a topic this is addressed.)

I added a very simple three Editbox form with a Submit button to a new page on an existing site, all built with Wysiwyg.

I used the Form Wizard to set things up, including the addition of a .csv file to record the data entered so that I can retrieve that information and manipulate it in Excel on my personal computer (it will be a registration form eventually.)

The page displays. The edit boxes receive the information. The success page displays. An email is sent out containing the data entered. But nothing goes to the .csv file. Its empty, and stays empty.

I have double and triple checked the read/write permissions of the .csv file and the location was set when the file was created by the Form Wizard, and my hosting site supports PHP (v7.0.33). The page is PHP enabled.

The events "onsubmit:Form Submit:self" and "onsubmit:Form Reset:self" are Form Properties.

These are all just starting points for what I want to do (add) to the form later. But I want to get past this hurdle of why the data is not writing to the .csv before I continue.

Any ideas?
Last edited by gmaclean482 on Thu Feb 27, 2020 3:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Pablo

Re: Form Data will not post to csv file

Post by Pablo »

The only reason I can think why this can fail is when the cvs is not accessible/writable.
Are there any errors in PHP error log on the server?
gmaclean482

Post by gmaclean482 »

OK, I will amend my previous post.

IF I turn off the csv file write I get the email (I forgot that I did that last night). Everything in my previous post is based on that configuration, including the display of the success.html file.