Ajax Live Search Extension Updated 18/5/2010
Ajax Live Search Extension Updated 18/5/2010
Hi
Ive updated my Live search Extension to now work with WB6. As you type in your search term results appear below it (Google Style).
You can see it working here in the top right corner named Quick Product Find. You can see another example here. Click 'Search by Keyword' on the menu or main page.
You can download the extension here
http://www.mediafire.com/?d36a368rh7kz0d9
The code is taken from a lesson at http://www.w3schools.com/php/php_ajax_livesearch.asp and is free to use.
I'll try to add a dataset within the extension asap.
Hope you find it useful
Ive updated my Live search Extension to now work with WB6. As you type in your search term results appear below it (Google Style).
You can see it working here in the top right corner named Quick Product Find. You can see another example here. Click 'Search by Keyword' on the menu or main page.
You can download the extension here
http://www.mediafire.com/?d36a368rh7kz0d9
The code is taken from a lesson at http://www.w3schools.com/php/php_ajax_livesearch.asp and is free to use.
I'll try to add a dataset within the extension asap.
Hope you find it useful
Last edited by kevinp on Sun Nov 21, 2010 10:59 pm, edited 15 times in total.
- BaconFries
-
- Posts: 5619
- Joined: Thu Aug 16, 2007 7:32 pm
Nice search tool!
Please read this posting if you build extensions.
viewtopic.php?t=17899
Thank you.
Please read this posting if you build extensions.
viewtopic.php?t=17899
Thank you.
- me.prosenjeet
-
- Posts: 1267
- Joined: Mon Dec 24, 2007 1:50 pm
- Location: Lucknow
- Contact:
Is this a search engine in itself or uses "Live Search" like we were using Google otherwise?
Check the new Chat GPT and Malware detect extensions at the link below
Check my WB Extensions
Check my WB Templates
---------------------------------------------------------
www.Lucknowwebs.com
Check my WB Extensions
Check my WB Templates
---------------------------------------------------------
www.Lucknowwebs.com
I supose it is more like an autofill form really but it emulates the Live Search effect.
It currently only searches a predefined file as that has been my main use for it (as you'll see from the examples) but the possibility of searching the web would be an interesting option.
You can't currently scroll through the results with the keyboard due to the fluid way the info is presented but I'll look into it and see if it's possible. It would also be nice to have the chosen result placed in the Search Box on selection (for use on forms etc).
It currently only searches a predefined file as that has been my main use for it (as you'll see from the examples) but the possibility of searching the web would be an interesting option.
You can't currently scroll through the results with the keyboard due to the fluid way the info is presented but I'll look into it and see if it's possible. It would also be nice to have the chosen result placed in the Search Box on selection (for use on forms etc).
Thanks for the error report. It seems my server had gone a bit strange. I was planning an update to re captcha and have done this tonight plus I've also improved the email format. I will update the forms so they don't lose data if a wrong code is input.
As for the home page link, that was entirely my fault.
Thanks again.
As for the home page link, that was entirely my fault.
Thanks again.
Hi
Not sure why this is happening, never come across it before. It actually sounds like a problem with the server and is most likely the result of something triggering a rule in the server's "mod_security" rules.
A quick way to resolve this is to put the following in a .htaccess file in your web site's /home/username/public_html directory:
This will disable mod_security for your domain.
You may have to contact your host in order to have this disabled.
Hope this helps
Not sure why this is happening, never come across it before. It actually sounds like a problem with the server and is most likely the result of something triggering a rule in the server's "mod_security" rules.
A quick way to resolve this is to put the following in a .htaccess file in your web site's /home/username/public_html directory:
Code: Select all
SecFilterEngine Off
You may have to contact your host in order to have this disabled.
Hope this helps
- protectourlands
-
- Posts: 426
- Joined: Sat May 24, 2008 2:16 am
- Contact:
I am looking at updating with this functionality but just have'nt had the time lately. Its quite easy to do by setting the variable in the XML file but that would only give you a defined number of entries with no way of adding more. For this I would imagine you'd have to use the dataset option which I'm not totally familiar with just yet.
The links XML file will only be uploaded if that is the file you choose otherwise it will be your chosen file. Make sure the xml file is formatted properly.
At some stage I hope to make this possible from within the extension but it's quite a time consuming job and I haven't had the time lately.
Hope this helps
At some stage I hope to make this possible from within the extension but it's quite a time consuming job and I haven't had the time lately.
Hope this helps
I've rebuilt the extension with version 2.2.
Re download and try the new version to see if it works.
You can get it here http://www.mediafire.com/?5zjjkzdyz3y
Hope this helps
Re download and try the new version to see if it works.
You can get it here http://www.mediafire.com/?5zjjkzdyz3y
Hope this helps
kevinp, here is the dataset .xsl file below you are looking for to update your extension at your leisure:
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<xsl:stylesheet xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
version="1.0">
<xsl:output method="xml" indent="yes"/>
<xsl:template match='/'>
<pages>
<xsl:for-each select="DATASET/ITEM">
<title><xsl:value-of select="TITLE"/></title>
<url><xsl:value-of select="FILENAME"/></url>
</xsl:for-each>
</pages>
</xsl:template>
</xsl:stylesheet>
<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<xsl:stylesheet xmlns:xsl="http://www.w3.org/1999/XSL/Transform"
version="1.0">
<xsl:output method="xml" indent="yes"/>
<xsl:template match='/'>
<pages>
<xsl:for-each select="DATASET/ITEM">
<title><xsl:value-of select="TITLE"/></title>
<url><xsl:value-of select="FILENAME"/></url>
</xsl:for-each>
</pages>
</xsl:template>
</xsl:stylesheet>
Hi Ian
I think I've cracked it. It seemed to have lost the link with the control files for some unknown reason.
I've re-built the whole thing, tested it on my server and it seems to work OK so i've updated the link at the beggining of the post to point at the new file.
To let the css file control the font size etc you need to set the document type to 'none' on the page properties 'General' tag.
Give it a try and let me know how you go on.
I'll hopefully be adding a internal dataset soon and possibly (if I can get it to work) a simple database.
Hope this helps
Kev
I think I've cracked it. It seemed to have lost the link with the control files for some unknown reason.
I've re-built the whole thing, tested it on my server and it seems to work OK so i've updated the link at the beggining of the post to point at the new file.
To let the css file control the font size etc you need to set the document type to 'none' on the page properties 'General' tag.
Give it a try and let me know how you go on.
I'll hopefully be adding a internal dataset soon and possibly (if I can get it to work) a simple database.
Hope this helps
Kev