***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

In this section you can share self-made extensions with other users of WYSIWYG Web Builder.
There is a dedicated section for commercial extensions.
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

This requires custom coding. You can create a small routine to include through the Custom Processing properties, to retrieve all email addresses and then add them to the array of emails addresses where mails must be sent.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Navaldesign wrote:This requires custom coding. You can create a small routine to include through the Custom Processing properties, to retrieve all email addresses and then add them to the array of emails addresses where mails must be sent.
OK i tested this: I add this code to the page: Then a hidden field in mailform like this: Name: email, Value: <?php echo $email, and n admin mail field in DBTS FP like this: ".$_POST['email']."
But with this i only get the latest added email in DB, that is a mail is only sent to admin, autorespond and one mail in DB column "email"? What is wrong if you dont mind aswering. Thank's.

<?php

Code: Select all

// DB CONNECTION CODE
.....................


///CONNECT TO MYSQL
$link=mysql_connect($mysqladd, $mysqluser, $mysqlpass, true) or die('Could not connect to database: ' . mysql_error());

//CONNECT TO DATABASE
mysql_select_db($databasename, $link) or die('Could not connect to table: ' . mysql_error());


$query="SELECT *FROM USERS WHERE Kategori='Bygg & Anläggning'"; 

$result=mysql_query($query, $link); 

$row = mysql_fetch_array($result, MYSQL_ASSOC);
if($row){
extract($row);
}
else
{header ("Location: error.php?error=".urlencode("No such ad exists in our database."));
exit;
}
?>
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

Because your code only retrieves one email from the database, you should use a "while" loop to retrieve all email addresses.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Navaldesign wrote:Because your code only retrieves one email from the database, you should use a "while" loop to retrieve all email addresses.
I now have this code: The echo code will show all the email addressess but still the email is only sent to one of them? I have this as hidden field: Name: mailto Value: <?php echo $mail;?>
and now in the BCC field in DBTS FP iv got this: ".$_POST['mailto']." PLEAS CAN YOU HELP ME? Bill me if you need.

//DB CONNECTION CODE
...............................

Code: Select all

//CONNECT TO MYSQL
$link=mysql_connect($mysqladd, $mysqluser, $mysqlpass, true) or die('Could not connect to database: ' . mysql_error());

//CONNECT TO DATABASE
mysql_select_db($databasename, $link) or die('Could not connect to table: ' . mysql_error());


$query="SELECT * FROM USERS WHERE Kategori='Bygg & Anläggning'"; 

$result=mysql_query($query);

$num=mysql_numrows($result); 

$row = mysql_fetch_array ($query);

mysql_close();

$i=0; 
while ($i < $result) {

$mail=mysql_result($result,$i,"email");
echo "<b><br>$mail<hr><br></b>";

$i++; 
}
?> 
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

It should NOT go in a hidden field !

It must go in the emails array:

while ($i < $result) {

$mailto = ",".mysql_result($result,$i,"email");

$i++;
}
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Navaldesign wrote:It should NOT go in a hidden field !

It must go in the emails array:

while ($i < $result) {

$mailto = ",".mysql_result($result,$i,"email");

$i++;
}
Now i only get Autoresponder and admin mails. In BCC in DBTS FP i'v got this: ".$_POST['mailto']."
Should this (DB) code bee in the End of script custom processing field? as i have now i got in a HTML box at start of page?
Also i get , before the first mail if i echo this echo "<b><br>$mailto<hr><br></b>"; will that work?

Thank you.

Code: Select all

$query="SELECT * FROM USERS WHERE Kategori='Bygg & Anläggning'"; 

$result=mysql_query($query);

$num=mysql_numrows($result); 

$row = mysql_fetch_array ($query);

mysql_close();

$i=0;
while ($i < $result) {

$mailto = ",".mysql_result($result,$i,"email");

echo "<b><br>$mailto<hr><br></b>";

$i++; 
}

?>
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

Sorry Patrik, I find it very hard to follow you.
You should analyze the code of the DBTS Form Processor and see for yourself where it shuld go (Before Admin mail custom processing). But, of course, not only the two lines of code I posted above, the FULL code for database connection and email addresses retrieval.

It has become very difficult for me to assist you, as you are heavily modifying my code. Please understand that I can't fully understand your logic or what you need / want to do, what your database structure is and more.... Furthermore, to be able to create such applications, you are supposed to have a good knowledge of PHP / MySQL, otherwise you will be always asking for help. This forum is not for PHP help, neither the creator of an extension (in this case, me) can provide this type of help all the time. So actually I can't be of any help.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Navaldesign wrote:Sorry Patrik, I find it very hard to follow you.
You should analyze the code of the DBTS Form Processor and see for yourself where it shuld go (Before Admin mail custom processing). But, of course, not only the two lines of code I posted above, the FULL code for database connection and email addresses retrieval.

It has become very difficult for me to assist you, as you are heavily modifying my code. Please understand that I can't fully understand your logic or what you need / want to do, what your database structure is and more.... Furthermore, to be able to create such applications, you are supposed to have a good knowledge of PHP / MySQL, otherwise you will be always asking for help. This forum is not for PHP help, neither the creator of an extension (in this case, me) can provide this type of help all the time. So actually I can't be of any help.
OK
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

back to my problem about the tab program not working at all. It seems that the extension is stuck on some older version.
In the extension manager it says it's old
Image
I've tried uninstalling and reinstalling a bunch of times.
HELP
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

But, How is this related to the DBTS Form Processor ?

I mean, if you can't update the JQuery extensions, you should be posting in the General Questions or the Extensions forum, as these are official extensions.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

sorry it was just that it had to do with getting the form to work and then I discovered that the tabs weren't showing up at all and I forgot which forum I was in. I will find the correct forum.
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

on the form I would like to have the file attachments go to a folder up one level and over can I do that?

so the upload folder name is files and in the structure it's

html_public
_files
_mysite

I've tried ./files/ but it didn't go. maybe it's ../files? I can't remeber. Or maybe it doesn't do that?
Patti
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

Should be ../files
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

By the way Georg you are just awesome! The more I work with this form builder you made I am blown away with how much you have put into this!
Thank You
Patti
I have tried everything and I can't get it to put the files anywhere except right in the same folder inside the directory.
tried
../files
ftp://mysite/files
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Hi, i would like to make a mail form that are divided on on 5 pages (so 5 different mail forms). So insted of a submit button on the firs 4 pages i use a advance button with a link to the next form page. And on the last page i use submit button? and all the resoults should be sent in the same email. Do i use the Web storage/Session storage function?

and if i want to use the DBTS Form pro, Do i only add that extention in the last page?

Thank you.
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

did you try the jquery tabs? look at the posts above to see how you do it.
You only have 1 form with 5 pages and only 1 submit button. All of the info is sent in one email.
You only add the DTBS once
Patti
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

If you read the manual, you will find fully explained how to create multipage forms.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

Georg,
I still can't make the form save the attachments anywhere outside of the folder that the website is in. Any suggestions?
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

Does the folder already exist ?
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

From the DBTS FP help file:

Set the form processor NOT to do anything at all: How do i do this?

In the first form, set the “Copy in Session” to “Yes”.
In intermediate forms, set BOTH the “Copy in Session” and the “Copy From
Session” to “Yes”:

Whare do i find this fields? i can only find: Copy Field values in SESSION
and Copy SESSION values in fields.No Copy from Session at all?.

Do i use a submit button in all the forms and just set the thank you page to be the next form page
or do i use a link(button) and set the link to go to the next form page?

I downloaded the latest version of DBTS FP.
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

From the manual, Section D (Behavior):

1. Copy Field Values in Session / Copy Session values in Fields (there on
referred to -for briefness- as Copy in Session / Copy from Session).

Yes, you add a submit button in all forms.
Setting DBTS Form Processor NOT to do anything means no admin email, no Auto email, no CSV storage, no DB storage. As I said, set it NOT to do anything at all.

Yes, you set the next form to be the "success" page for each form, as stated in the manual:


You should set the “After Processing” behavior of each form, to be “Redirect” and
its “Success URL” should be the next form page.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Navaldesign wrote:From the manual, Section D (Behavior):

1. Copy Field Values in Session / Copy Session values in Fields (there on
referred to -for briefness- as Copy in Session / Copy from Session).

Yes, you add a submit button in all forms.
Setting DBTS Form Processor NOT to do anything means no admin email, no Auto email, no CSV storage, no DB storage. As I said, set it NOT to do anything at all.

Yes, you set the next form to be the "success" page for each form, as stated in the manual:


You should set the “After Processing” behavior of each form, to be “Redirect” and
its “Success URL” should be the next form page.
OK, Thank you. Just to be clear. Copy Field Values in Session = Copy in Session, Copy Session values in Fields = Copy from Session?
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

Copy Field Values in Session = Copy in Session

Copy Session values in Fields = Copy from Session
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Navaldesign wrote:Copy Field Values in Session = Copy in Session

Copy Session values in Fields = Copy from Session
OK. Thank you. I will giv this a go.
tdr
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 10:14 am

Parse for commas in fields in CSV files

Post by tdr »

I am using DBTS form processor to store data in a CSV for Excel file on the server. If a user enters a comma inside a field value, the CSV file spills onto a new row for each comma it encounters within the field text.
Is there a way to have the form processor parse for commas inside a field and replace with them with another character to avoid this problem?

thanks
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

Please set the processor to "Double quote" fields.

Please note that from the moment you set the processor to do so, you must start with a new CSV file as the one already existing has the older records stored without quotes.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
tdr
 
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sat Sep 26, 2009 10:14 am

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by tdr »

Thanks Navaldesign - that worked. I was using an older version of the extension and missed this new setting. Much appreciated!
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Required email Field not working.

Post by wbdesigner »

Maybe I'm not doing this correctley but I have checked the data required box in the email validate form field. and it still allows people to send the form without filling in an email address. am I suppose to do something else in the DTBS processor?
Patti
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

No, DBTS Form Processor doesn't perform any validation. so you have to setup your validation rules from within WWB.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

if I remove the before tag
<form name="indexForm1" method="post" action="<?php echo basename(__FILE__);?>" enctype="multipart/form-data" id="indexForm1">
and after tag
</form>
that I put in so that the DTBS processor would work then the email validates correctly but then the DBTS form doesn't seem to be working at all.
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

I don't get it. Isn't it a normal form ?

Or are you using Jquery or some other layer with the <form> ....</form> tags added manually ?
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

about as simple of a form as you can have

go ahead and see for yourself you don't need to fill out anything and it sends
and I have the "requires data validation" box checked
Last edited by wbdesigner on Mon Mar 26, 2012 9:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

Please remove the code in the Before and After tags of the form HTML.

Doubel click the form in WWB and set the action and encoding type to be
<?php echo basename(__FILE__);?>

as per DBTS Form Processor manual (currently you have it as mailto:)

and the encoding type MUST be multipart / form data
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

thanks! as always you are the best!
I think you are right. The first time I used the DTBS processor was to make a jquery form and I have just always set them up the same way.
itsme
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by itsme »

I'm sorry for this silly question, but i am just not able to start!
i have added this extension and i have been hearing about it a lot, so now where is the area that i will add the text fields and the other things to it? what is the working difference between this one and the buit-in processor? should i make a form area and add this extension to it by dragging it to it? i just see it very difficult to adjust setting and the built-in processor is much easier to manage! don't you think so? is this support calendar button for text field with validation that must be mandatory field?

again sorry for these question, this is just to start with, i have read the pdf and directly goes to settings without telling how to start add fields or so on! so iam just confused leading myself to the start point.

thanks in advanced for your help and support

Mike
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

You will love this form processor there just isn't anything so easy to run and yet so powerful if you want to go further with it.
click on the DTBS form processor in your extensions go to anywhere on the page ( I put mine at the top.. but it doesn't matter where you put it) and draw a box the processor will appear click on it and fill out the fields.
itsme
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by itsme »

thanks wbdesigner for your prompt reply, i actually read about it a lot, but i am not able to understand the mechanism,
do you mean just put the fields and everything needed from wbb form control stuff in the page and include the form processor dbts icon on the page? what box you mean? anybox? so how this box will know that this is part of the form that will be processed with this dbts form processor?! what about checkboxes and radiobuttons, is it the same issue with the built in (putting them as q[1] q[2] and use their built-in validation issues? i think yet im missing the principles in this regard, sorry :(
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

From the manual (Page 15):


The Form and its settings:
DBTS Form Processor does NOT create the form for you!
You need to create a form in your page using the WB Form Wizard or the WB form
tools. Once you have created the form, make sure to respect the following
settings:
The form page MUST be published as PHP.
The form action MUST be set to be “<?php echo basename(__FILE__);?>
The form encoding type MUST be “multipart/form-data”
The submit button MUST be named “submit” though its value can be anything
(like “Send”, “Send Info Now” or anything else).


Differences berween the Built in form Processor and the DBTS Form Processor ?

A LOT !

Too many to list here. If you read the manual you will see that the DBTS Form Processor does things that even commercial products that cost more than $100 simply can't do:

Particular "from" email address structure to guarantee deliverability
Custom named "email" field
Timezone and time formatting
Further posting
Storing values in SESSION (allows to create preview - confirmation pages, multipage forms, preserve values when going back after an error)
User defined behavior after processing
Custom processing and includes in user defined position (allows tou to embed practically any type of custom code in the processor)
Exclude fields if necessary.
Include or exclude null fields
Include or exclude info in the autoresponder mail
Include or exclude server detected info (time, IP address, etc)
Attach one or more files in the autoresonder mail
Send email to specific departments(example sales or support or anything else)
Ban IP addresses
Set the script behavior for spam mails and banned IP addresses
Send HTML emails (fully customizable) with your logo if you like
Select mail engine (PHP mail() or SMTP or Sendmail or Qmail) . Send mails through your Gmail, Yahoo, AOL or other accounts
Of course Database and CSV storing, settable through the processor.

and much more..........

Of course it is more complicated, because it does a LOT more..... However, it is very intuitive and well documented.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
itsme
 
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:02 pm
Location: Spain

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by itsme »

Navaldesign! you are genious dear, i read most of your replies in this post, i really appreciate all ur help to ppl here, including help me few minutes ago, i was reading the manual and didn't notice that information, i see other information now in page 15, however, this is really great and it is EXACTLY what i needed to know :) thanks a lot again dear, much appreciated. also thanks wbdesignser

i will try this invention in details :)

warm regards
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

SQL DB to store records

Post by wbdesigner »

First of all thanks again for the form processor it's the best ever!

I filled out the DB section with all of my info
but then I'm not sure how I fillout my form which field names are which in the DB

In other words I have a field named 'title' in my DB where do I put 'title' in the form?
Patti
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

# Patti: the processor will create columns with names depending on the form field names. So I'm unsure what you are asking me.

@ Hans: I will have to check this, no, it is not by design.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

where in the form do I put the form field names for a table I already have field names for?
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

The processor will create (if not already existing) a column in the database that will have the name of the field, all lowercased, (ex. field name Title will create a column in the database named "title") and will replace whitespaces with underscores (ex. Field name Your Hobbies will give place in a column named "your_hobbies")

Order is not important.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
wbdesigner
 
 
Posts: 27
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2008 10:59 pm
Location: Santa Cruz, CA USA
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by wbdesigner »

but if I already have a MySql DB all set up with fields and I have my DBTS form all working where in the wb5 form fields do I put the name of the DB field that I already have.

when I look at the properties of the form field there's a place for a title is that where it goes?
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

No. As I said, it is each form field name that defines the column name in the database.
So, if you already have a column in the database named (in example) "contact_by" , your form field that should capture this piece of info, MUST be named the same way (contact_by)
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

The reason why the visitor's email doesn't appear in the "from" is that many email addresses belong to blacklisted domains. Also many hosting companies, disallow emails from "free" (gmail, yahoo, aol, hotmail etc) email providers as they are used for spamming.

However, the "reply to" is set to be the visitor's email address! so if you click on "Reply", the reply email will actually be sent to the correct (the visitor's) email address.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

First, you can use the built in autoresponder, instead of using an external autoreply tool. The built in autoresponder can also attach files (if you need to send an attachment).

With this said, you can use the following trick: in the "From" property, type

".$_POST['email']."

(including the quotes)

. This, on the assumption that the user's email address field is named email . If not, use the actual field name.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

I meant the DBTS Form Processor autoresponder, not the WWB built in form processor autoresponder. Why would you want to use both ??
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Navaldesign
 
 
Posts: 862
Joined: Sat Mar 01, 2008 8:08 pm
Location: Italy
Contact:

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Navaldesign »

A link to the form please ? Does the email arrive correct ?
Did you enable the "Store in CSV file?
Do NOT create the CSV (delete it from the server). The script will create it automatically. If the file structure is not correct, no values will be stored.
www.dbtechnosystems.com
User avatar
Patrik iden
 
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Wed Mar 24, 2010 9:07 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: ***UPDATED*** DB Technosystems Form Processor 02/09/2011

Post by Patrik iden »

Hello im using the DBTS Formprocessor and i'm trying to make my own captcha like function.
I have one edit box with the name: captcha_code and this value to get random code: <?php $random = substr(number_format(time() * rand(),0,'',''),0,6); echo $random?>
this field is set to red only. Then i have a second edit box named: captcha_answer this edit box is set to Data required Min:6 Max:6 and to have the same value as the first edit box.
Now averything semes to work but in the recived mail there are no data only Header and Footer.
Can you think of somthing pleas?

Regards

//Patrik Iden
Post Reply