auto select address bar on accessing particular website
-
-
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm
auto select address bar on accessing particular website
Hi all,
I have a custom landing page for my New Tab on Chrome... but I very often simply want to do a search, so have to press Alt-D or click in the address bar to then type.
Is there a way to have the address bar automatically selected when I go to that url (https://videoblurb.com/mp/startpage/)
I'd love to add that ability.
Thanks,
Mark.
I have a custom landing page for my New Tab on Chrome... but I very often simply want to do a search, so have to press Alt-D or click in the address bar to then type.
Is there a way to have the address bar automatically selected when I go to that url (https://videoblurb.com/mp/startpage/)
I'd love to add that ability.
Thanks,
Mark.
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
- wwonderfull
-
- Posts: 1566
- Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am
- Contact:
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
I think as your saying about the browsers address bar then there is nothing which the software can do for you other than that you have to do it using the shortcut which the browser has for example in chrome browser you can use
Jump to the address bar Ctrl + l or Alt + d or F6
Search from anywhere on the page Ctrl + k or Ctrl + e
In that way the browser can focus on the address bar just by using keyboard shortcut but for a website it is more of an internal thing. Maybe you can add a search bar inside your webpage in that way you can AUTOMATICALLY focus on the search bar which is in your website and not just on the browsers address bar. So the solution is put a search bar inside the webpage.
Jump to the address bar Ctrl + l or Alt + d or F6
Search from anywhere on the page Ctrl + k or Ctrl + e
In that way the browser can focus on the address bar just by using keyboard shortcut but for a website it is more of an internal thing. Maybe you can add a search bar inside your webpage in that way you can AUTOMATICALLY focus on the search bar which is in your website and not just on the browsers address bar. So the solution is put a search bar inside the webpage.
-
-
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
Hi Wwonderful,
Thanks for the response!
WRT the search bar on my custom page, I managed to add it, but don't know how to get the cursor into the search box (ready to type) by default when the page opens...
I was hoping that something was possible, an auto-generation of the Alt-D command or something. I know it is "possible" as I have a SUPERB chrome addon called AutoControl which allows me to use mouse gestures to create tabs, switch them, close them etc... and I can customise it such that AFTER it creates a new tab, it enters Alt-D so the address bar is pre-selected. This works very well, but I also want the regular + button to add a tab to do the same thing... not within chrome's abilities, but I was hoping some script or something on that new tab page would be able to Generate Alt-D just as AutoControl does.

Thanks for the response!
WRT the search bar on my custom page, I managed to add it, but don't know how to get the cursor into the search box (ready to type) by default when the page opens...
I was hoping that something was possible, an auto-generation of the Alt-D command or something. I know it is "possible" as I have a SUPERB chrome addon called AutoControl which allows me to use mouse gestures to create tabs, switch them, close them etc... and I can customise it such that AFTER it creates a new tab, it enters Alt-D so the address bar is pre-selected. This works very well, but I also want the regular + button to add a tab to do the same thing... not within chrome's abilities, but I was hoping some script or something on that new tab page would be able to Generate Alt-D just as AutoControl does.

Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
- wwonderfull
-
- Posts: 1566
- Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am
- Contact:
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
if you used editbox in WYSIWYG Web Builder then you can use autofocus on which will automatically focus the search bar

And if you did it using any custom code then in the html of the input you have to add autofocus
for example:

And if you did it using any custom code then in the html of the input you have to add autofocus
for example:
Code: Select all
<input type="text" id="Editbox1" name="Editbox1" autofocus>
-
-
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
Hi again and thanks again...
I added the search using Google's https://programmablesearchengine.google.com/ and then pasted the code it provided into a basic HTML box in WYSIWYG. I followed instructions on a YT video as I really don't know much about code...
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<title>Search Plus</title>
<script async src="https://cse.google.com/cse.js?cx=0571cf ... cript><div class="gcse-searchbox-only"></div>
</head>
<body>
</body>
</html>
I tried adding that same code in Editbox, but it's not clear how I would paste the code there... tried adding:
<input type="text" id="Html1" name="Html1" autofocus> but that resulted in a second text entry box on the page, not activate the current Html1 box search field...
A bit baffled...
I added the search using Google's https://programmablesearchengine.google.com/ and then pasted the code it provided into a basic HTML box in WYSIWYG. I followed instructions on a YT video as I really don't know much about code...
<!DOCTYPE html>
<html>
<head>
<title>Search Plus</title>
<script async src="https://cse.google.com/cse.js?cx=0571cf ... cript><div class="gcse-searchbox-only"></div>
</head>
<body>
</body>
</html>
I tried adding that same code in Editbox, but it's not clear how I would paste the code there... tried adding:
<input type="text" id="Html1" name="Html1" autofocus> but that resulted in a second text entry box on the page, not activate the current Html1 box search field...
A bit baffled...
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
- wwonderfull
-
- Posts: 1566
- Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am
- Contact:
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
I think I need your project file or might need to send you an email with my own demo file. I hope you can come Contact using our site. As it is more of a custom code thing so needs more dedication on the work.
-
-
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
Hi @wwonderfull
Thanks so much! Here is my project file
https://videoblurb.com/mp/startpage/startpage.wbs
... the search is for the index page only...



Thanks so much! Here is my project file
https://videoblurb.com/mp/startpage/startpage.wbs
... the search is for the index page only...
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
- wwonderfull
-
- Posts: 1566
- Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am
- Contact:
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
As I see your project it looks not to be that much mobile responsive has scaling issues. The other thing is You did not use the WWB editbox but instead used the custom code input.
I think I can make it a master piece though it would cost me some time. But the project would have looked good on small mobile devices thats for sure. But I will try to fix the input focus issue only for now.
I think I can make it a master piece though it would cost me some time. But the project would have looked good on small mobile devices thats for sure. But I will try to fix the input focus issue only for now.
- wwonderfull
-
- Posts: 1566
- Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am
- Contact:
-
-
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
Thanks fella, that is very kind of you...wwonderfull wrote: ↑Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:35 am Here is your project with Google search and autofocus!
https://filebin.net/w3noc6ph5sc9h2je
I may have to give up on this though because there is another problem with doing it this way...

Damn!
Thanks anyway...
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
- wwonderfull
-
- Posts: 1566
- Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am
- Contact:
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
There is a lot of solution for this but trying simple.I may have to give up on this though because there is another problem with doing it this way...
It's an easy solution as Google runs secure it does not operate on insecure SSL so it uses HTTPS instead of HTTP
Although I can use it even with http i don't know what went wrong for you but still it now uses https
I have updated the code for you again download the project I am sure it will be fine

https://filebin.net/b25xo57q1yn5g0if
Last edited by wwonderfull on Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:26 pm, edited 1 time in total.
-
-
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
YESSSSSSSS that works fantastically, thanks so much! That's brilliant. I reckon I will save that as a block for future use... would be good if WYSIWYG had it as a drag and drop thing... for non-coders like myself.wwonderfull wrote: ↑Fri Oct 07, 2022 4:19 pm It's an easy solution as Google runs secure it does not operate on insecure SSL so it uses HTTPS instead of HTTP
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
- wwonderfull
-
- Posts: 1566
- Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2020 8:27 am
- Contact:
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
A lot of kudos for all forum members who are helping out a lot!
// Love is the acceptance of nothing / Account age is no guarantee of efficiency ;-) ->
Above, Beyond, and @wwonderfull! <- Genuinely helps you with a powered up site that counts! Four Times Excellence!
Above, Beyond, and @wwonderfull! <- Genuinely helps you with a powered up site that counts! Four Times Excellence!
-
-
- Posts: 62
- Joined: Thu Nov 15, 2012 7:00 pm
Re: auto select address bar on accessing particular website
Using 18.0.1
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM
Windows 11 i7, 24gb RAM