Page 1 of 1

Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:23 pm
by mentalizzz
Hello my website is https://www.energi-positif.net

I am using a simple menu just from text and i put it all inside one layout grid in a master page. But the result is bad. My simple text menu only good on one page (index page). If i clicked other menu, the font became smaller. If i clicked other menu again, the menu will be aligned left. Clicked other menu again several text still on the center, the others aligned left and right.

This is my file:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/176ufp5 ... drive_link

Please help me to fix this. I need to fix my website as soon as possible. Thank you so much

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:34 pm
by crispy68
It looks to me that you need to set the text alignment of your text boxes to center. Some are set to center and others are set to left.

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:37 pm
by gofrank
The text items that make up your menu on the master page must have unique IDs. The current IDs are "Text1", "Text2", etc. Those IDs will probably be duplicated on the pages using the MasterPage, which will cause problems.

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:39 pm
by mentalizzz
crispy68 wrote: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:34 pm It looks to me that you need to set the text alignment of your text boxes to center. Some are set to center and others are set to left.
I guess I already done that in the master page. Where did you find the errors?

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:41 pm
by mentalizzz
gofrank wrote: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:37 pm The text items that make up your menu on the master page must have unique IDs. The current IDs are "Text1", "Text2", etc. Those IDs will probably be duplicated on the pages using the MasterPage, which will cause problems.
So i just need to change the IDs?

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:47 pm
by crispy68
goFrank makes a good point. All objects on the master page should have unique ID's different from what's on other pages. If you have a Text1 on the masterpage and a Text1 on the Index page, then there will be a conflict.
So i just need to change the IDs?
Yes. I typically will just add a 'M' to the front of the ID to indicate Masterpage. Ex: MText1, MText2
Or, you can give them a completely unique name. Up to you. If you change the name, make it descriptive. For example, the grid you are using to hold the menu text objects you may want to give it an ID of "mainmenu". This helps make sense of the object in the object manager instead of LayoutGrid1

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:53 pm
by mentalizzz
crispy68 wrote: Fri Nov 10, 2023 5:47 pm goFrank makes a good point. All objects on the master page should have unique ID's different from what's on other pages. If you have a Text1 on the masterpage and a Text1 on the Index page, then there will be a conflict.
So i just need to change the IDs?
Yes. I typically will just add a 'M' to the front of the ID to indicate Masterpage. Ex: MText1, MText2
Yes goFrank is right. As I checked several pages, I found duplicate Text1 - Text9 which automatically generated when I made the text menu on the master page :D

And also it is a good idea from you crispy68. Definitely i will be using the code "M" :D

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 6:06 pm
by mentalizzz
Thank you so much goFrank and crispy68 the problem is 90% fixed. I already changed all of the IDs on the master page (text and layout grid). All pages got the same menu except index.htm. It seems like the menu line space of the index.htm is slightly bigger. If i clicked the other page from the menu it became smaller line space. But after that if I clicked the other page again it was the same as the second and the fourth and so on and so on. So the only different result was the index.htm. How to fix this?

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Fri Nov 10, 2023 6:58 pm
by crispy68
The line height for the text objects on the index page is set to 1.5 whereas the other pages are set to 1.1875. This is why you are seeing the difference.

There are 2 places to look:
1. open the text object properties and see what you have set for the line-height.
2. open the page properties -> Style tab and check to see what the line-height is set there for the page.

Re: Using simple text menu inside layout grid via master page and problem occur

Posted: Tue Nov 14, 2023 12:48 am
by mentalizzz
crispy68 wrote: Fri Nov 10, 2023 6:58 pm The line height for the text objects on the index page is set to 1.5 whereas the other pages are set to 1.1875. This is why you are seeing the difference.

There are 2 places to look:
1. open the text object properties and see what you have set for the line-height.
2. open the page properties -> Style tab and check to see what the line-height is set there for the page.
Thank you so much crispy68 you are my hero :)