Form Data

Issues related to forms.
Post Reply
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

Hi

I have a first name field in my form
<input type="text" id="Editbox14" style="position:absolute;" name="First_Name" value="" tabindex="16" spellcheck="false" title="First Name">

I want the thank you page to say

Thank you First Name

I've added this line but it doesn;t work what is the correct syntax for adding form fields and data in to and html document?
Dear {#First Name#}
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

Did you enable ''Process variables in Success Page'?
Did you use $First_Name in the success page?
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

Yes on the success page all I have at the moment is a line of text that now reads

Dear $First_Name$

When I submit the form the success page appears but with the text

Dear $First_Name$

What I want inserted is the First_Name they entered into the form page
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

Did you enable ''Process variables in Success Page'?

If you need further assistance then please share a DEMO project (.wbs file) so I can see all your settings.

I do not need the complete project because that will only take more time to figure out what you have done.
Basically, I just need a small project with one page and object(s) that are relevant to your question.

For further details about how to share a project file, please see this FAQ:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=82134
WWBman
 
 
Posts: 909
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2010 6:10 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by WWBman »

The "Process variables in Success Page" option is in Form > Advanced > Miscellaneous.
Is that option ticked?
An example of the success page should be as follows (from Help).
I.e. Only one $

The following data has been submitted to the online form:

Name: $name
Email: $email
Website: $website
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

Hi

I think that has work, let me progress a little more. I'll come back to you if I still have some issues
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

I am making some good progress. However I have a combobox which I'd like the text to be show in the autoresponder not the value, how do I do that?
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

Only the value will be sent to the server, not the text. This is standard HTML behavior, so not specific to WWB,
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

Is there some one of achieving what I want as it would seem a pretty standard type of shopping form

The client selects the prize they want the form then calculates the number of points. However, on the email and autorespoder It needs to show the item

https://www.ifguk.com/form_test/New_Pri ... r_Form.wbs

https://www.ifguk.com/form_test/index.php

Thanks for your help
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

I'm sorry, there is no standard solution. The built-in script only handles basic form processing.
So, this will require a custom script. You can still use the same form, but change the 'action' of the form to your own script handler.
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

Thanks for that

Sorry one other query, I am strugling to add together the values in the 4 "Points" editboxes, which are themselves calculated fields

I want a final edit box that shows the su of all four, what is the correct expression?

https://www.ifguk.com/form_test/index.php

https://www.ifguk.com/form_test/New_Pri ... r_Form.wbs
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

The calculation seems to work correct.
What is the exact problem?
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

Firstly, really appreciate your help and quick responses

So, I have an edit box on each row that calulates the value of pts * qty

I have put an edit box below those three rows which I want to be the sum of the above. I have used the expression

(Number([Editbox6]))+(Number([Editbox5])+Number([Editbox8]))

But to no effect?

https://www.ifguk.com/form_test/index.php

https://www.ifguk.com/form_test/New_Pri ... r_Form.wbs
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

There is too much content in the demo for me to make sense of it. please try to do one thing at a time.

Can you please simplify the demo project so it only includes the elements that are relevant to your question>
Otherwise it will take me too much time to figure out what you are trying to do

See also:
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=82134
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

I think this is what you need

https://ifguk.com/form_test/check_calc.wbs

I'm trying to get Editbox7 to be the sum of Editboxes 5,6 & 8

I can't get the expression correct
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

For your demo project, I think it should be:

Code: Select all

Number([pts])*Number([qty])+Number([Editbox1])*Number([qCombobox2])+Number([Editbox3])*Number([qCombobox3])
(target Editbox7)

But I recommend to use meaningful IDs for the input fields, otherwise it can quickly become very confusing.
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

Thanks so much!

One final question is it possible to set a condition so when it is met a line of text appears in a box rather than a calculation?
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

Can you be more specific?
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

When a value is entered into a box I'd like another box to then display "Great Choice"
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

This is also possible with conditions.
Initially hide the object with the message and then show it if the input field is not empty.
sbinns@ifguk.com
 
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Thu Nov 02, 2023 12:16 pm

Re: Form Data

Post by sbinns@ifguk.com »

if an object remains hidded will it still be submitted as part of the form data. If its displayed I'd like it included in the auto reponder but if not displayed then not included
User avatar
Pablo
 
Posts: 23243
Joined: Sun Mar 28, 2004 12:00 pm
Location: Europe
Contact:

Re: Form Data

Post by Pablo »

If it's a text object then it will not be submitted.
If it's a form input field then it will be submitted. Unless you disable the input field.
Post Reply